An Invitation from the Writing Instructors of Ghost Ranch Fall Writing Festival

Blog, Writing | 0 comments

Every year at this time when the temperatures are starting to shift and the cottonwoods turn their splendid gold color, Ghost Ranch hosts the Fall Writing Festival (FWF). It feels so odd that we won’t be able to join in person together this year. Those of us who would have been teaching have decided it would be fun to preserve some of the camaraderie we experience during our special week and gather virtually next week.

Throughout October 5-9, 2020, we would like to invite friends of the Fall Writing Festival (or those who just love writing and Ghost Ranch) to join us for several afternoon and evening sessions. Whether you can join for one day or all five days, you are welcome.

In the spirit and tradition of FWF, we will have a few nights dedicated to Readings and a couple of afternoons dedicated to writing salons.

On Monday and Wednesday nights, join for readings and comments by Anita Skeen, Kelsey Block, Jane Taylor and Colleen Anderson. On Tuesday and Thursday afternoons we will welcome you to The Happy Hour Book Club and the Favorite Poem Project (see schedule below) and On Friday night, there will be reading by the participants in the Not Missing the Moment: The Ten-line Poem in the Time of Crisis class (first Ghost Ranch virtual writing course – full) and other special offerings. Below is the schedule for the week:

Reading and Commentary
Monday, October 5,
8:00 EST, 7:00 CST, 6:00 MST, 5:00 PST

Kelsey Block and Anita Skeen, who are teaching the Not Missing the Moment: The Ten-line Poem in the time of Crisis, will talk about how they came to writing, to collaboration, and will read from their work. Q and A to follow.

The Happy Hour Book Club
Tuesday October 6,
5:00 EST, 4:00 CST, 3:00 MST, 2:00 PST 

This is designed to be a time when all the folks who have come to the Ranch this week and others who choose to join us have the opportunity to get to meet each other (in real time we have drinks and snacks, but I don’t know how to do that virtually) and talk about the books we’ve read during the year. Session led by Jane Taylor and Colleen Anderson.

Reading and Commentary
Wednesday, October 7,
8:00 EST, 7:00 CST, 6:00 MST, 5:00 PST

Jane Taylor and Colleen Anderson will read from their work and talk about writing. Q and A to follow.

The Favorite Poem Project
Thursday, October 8,
5:00 EST, 4:00 CST, 3:00 MST, 2:00 PST

U.S. Poet Laureate Robert Pinsky’s Favorite Poem Project is dedicated to celebrating, documenting, and encouraging poetry’s role in Americans’ lives. Robert Pinsky, the 39th Poet Laureate of the United States, founded the Favorite Poem Project shortly after the Library of Congress appointed him to the post in 1997. The project has been carried on by many people in many different ways, and here at Ghost Ranch each year we celebrate poetry in our lives by asking anyone who would like to join us on one afternoon to read their favorites poems, or poems that have inspired them, or poems that they have carried with them all their lives. In the interest of time and sharing, we ask that all poems be no longer than one page. If the favorite poem is longer, just read an excerpt from the poem. Please do not read a poem that you have written. Session led by Kelsey Block and Anita Skeen.

Participants’ Night
Friday, October 9,
8:00 EST, 7:00 CST, 6:00 MST, 5:00 PST

Participants in the Not Missing the Moment: The Ten-line Poem in the Time of Crisis will read and talk about work written during the week. Other surprises might occur.

Ghost Ranch is making the offering available free of charge, however, you are invited to support the Ranch in some way (make a donation or purchase a beautiful GR journal – advertised below). We want our beloved Ghost Ranch to be around for many Fall Writing Festivals to come. Thank you for your generous support.

We are asking you to register for the event so you can be sent the link for joining via Zoom. We look forward to seeing you next week.

Let your pen flow,

Anita Skeen
Fall Writing Festival Coordinator & FWF Instructor Team

FROM THE TRADING POST:

The Ghost Ranch Logo Journal

Spiral notebook with 100 lined pages, elastic band to keep pages together and calendar in back. Hardcover front and back provides sturdy surface. Includes what may become your favorite pen!

Pin It on Pinterest